Hello! A little introduction…

Welcome! Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Here is a little bit about me…

Hello! I am a UK based Mum to a little boy and have been practising Montessori inspired parenting since he arrived in the Summer of 2018.

I first found out about Montessori by complete chance, through a Montessori book that was given to me. I then watched this 5 minute cartoon sketch video on Youtube explaining what Montessori was and I have loved it from that moment on. I have since been reading books, listening to podcasts and widening my knowledge on the subject of Montessori, gentle parenting and free range parenting concepts.

I feel so grateful that Maria Montessori brought together the ideas for this philosophy and that I found out about it just before I became a parent. It feels really right for us as a family and I think my son really appreciates being given lots of opportunities for independence and freedom, in his prepared environment at home. We also try and to make sure he also gets outside as much as possible, usually for several hours each day.

I absolutely love hunting for Montessori inspired things second hand, whether at car boot sales in the summer, charity shops or on Facebook Marketplace. I think it’s definitely possible to live the philosophy and not spend a lot of money on the items.

I also enjoy all things creative and love designing. I have recently designed some printable things for my son and I will be sharing these on this blog – check out the ‘Freebies’ button at the top to see them.

On this blog and on my Instagram account I share our daily family life and things that we discover including tips, hacks and DIY projects. Also I feature podcasts, books and resources that have really helped me with my parenting so far, plus products we love. It’s so lovely to be part of a community of like-minded people. If you have any other comments, feedback or just want to say hi, feel free to email me montessorichapters@gmail.com